Thursday, March 1, 2012

Rural Opportunity Zones

Legislation passed in 2011 to encourage economic growth in rural counties. Kansas Statutes 74-50,222 and 74-50,223 create Rural Opportunity Zones (ROZ). There are 50 counties in Kansas that have been authorized to offer one or both of the following financial incentives to new full-time residents:

·Kansas income tax waivers for up to five years OR
·Student loan repayments up to $15,000

Learn more about this program and how you can participate below!

Governor Sam Brownback’s roadmap for growing Kansas economy
and establishing Rural Opportunity Zones:

Governor Brownback’s message to the 2012 Legislature
including mention of Rural Opportunity Zones and their effect:

Text of KSA 74-50,222

Text of KSA 74-50,223

Map of Rural Opportunity Zones:

Information on the tax credit available from the Kansas
Department of Revenue:

Listing of the qualifications to see whether you can apply
for the credit:

Kansas Department of Commerce description of the program:

Rural Opportunity Zone guidelines:

Office of Rural Opportunity offices and contact information:

Article contact: Kim Harp

No comments: